Lost: Red Wallet

I have no cash in it, just plastic.

My license is in there, so if you’re going to steal my bank card (which isn’t worth that much–give me 10 years!), please leave my license. The DMV is a pain to deal with. Also, it’d save me $25.

My Shoppers Club Card is in there, too, and I use that on a daily basis. Can you return that please?

When I was twelve, I found a slouchy tweed purse full of hundred-dollar bills in the child seat of a shopping cart outside Clancy’s Big M. I was amazed that, sitting out there in the sun on a warm day, it hadn’t been found. I returned it to the owner. Please keep that in mind. I did get a reward, but you aren’t going to find any hundred-dollar bills in my wallet, so keep that in mind, too.

My wallet is leather, but has blue ink stains on it. The wear of the my books and cellphone have dulled it in spots.

Also, there is a prayer card from my Grandmother’s funeral service. Please do not throw it away. I have others, so if you aren’t going to return it, please keep it as found art. She was a nice lady and prayed every day. Even for those who didn’t deserve it, I’m sure. She will bring you peace.

You will see pictures of my parents and children. If you are lonely, you can look at them. They are beautiful.

About Sarah Cedeño

Sarah Cedeño received her BA and MA in Creative Writing from SUNY-Brockport, and her MFA in fiction from Goddard College. Her work has appeared in The Rumpus, Hippocampus Magazine, The Bellevue Literary Review, Literary Mama, and Redactions. She lives in Brockport with her husband and two sons and teaches writing at SUNY-Brockport. View all posts by Sarah Cedeño

Leave a Reply

