“You Hear Night Sounds,” a New Piece of Fiction, at The Rumpus



nightYou Hear Night Sounds,” my short fiction, has been published at The Rumpus. This piece is inspired by serial killer Joel Rifkin, who attended SUNY Brockport in the seventies.

Note: the piece is entirely fiction, and is only inspired by history, which means many liberties have been taken with details of the story.  While the story is speculative, that doesn’t mean certain elements of the story aren’t true. The characters in the story are fictionalized, the fabric of human emotion is real. I do not know Joel Rifkin, nor have I spoken to him or know his family.

Read it here:  You Hear Night Sounds

About Sarah Cedeño

Sarah Cedeño received her BA and MA in Creative Writing from SUNY-Brockport, and her MFA in fiction from Goddard College. Her work has appeared in The Rumpus, Hippocampus Magazine, The Bellevue Literary Review, Literary Mama, and Redactions. She lives in Brockport with her husband and two sons and teaches writing at SUNY-Brockport. View all posts by Sarah Cedeño

2 responses to ““You Hear Night Sounds,” a New Piece of Fiction, at The Rumpus

  • Luanne

    Sarah, congrats on your piece! I haven’t read it yet, but I do have a question for you. I’ve been noticing that lit mags have lots of room for fiction and poetry, but publish very little CNF. There are the handful of magazines that are devoted to nonfiction, of course, but I mean, in general, lit mags don’t want much CNF. Do you take this into account when you decide to write CNF or fiction to send out?

  • Sarah Cedeño

    Hi Luanne!
    Thanks for the congratulations.
    I have written some creative nonfiction, but for me, a piece seems to automatically come to me as an idea for a story or as an idea for a CNF just based on the material. Right now, I mostly have fiction since I’ve just finished an MFA in fiction and produced a lot of short stories.
    For me, it’s tougher to write CNF because that process has some built-in time to “divorce” myself from the event/situation I would write about. I want to write about my MS, which would be CNF, but it’s tough because I’m not sure how to have a clear view of it yet. My guess is that it will take a long time.
    Do you use Duotrope? It allows a filter that finds CNF publications/contests, so it weeds out a lot of the solely fiction pubs, too. I also think writing stunning CNF is tougher than writing fiction, and you seem to have a knack for it, so if I were you, I wouldn’t be discouraged because I think that there are many people writing CNF that haven’t achieved a clear-eyed/interesting view of what it is they’re trying to write about. I think you probably have a leg up on the competition just after reading your blog posts!
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

