A Note on My Last Post

I want to take a moment to clarify a few things in light of my post “Dear Brockport, an Open Letter:”

I am not a journalist, I am a creative writer, and my post was not meant to break a news story, rather to call into question the recent issues in our community by filtering it through my own concern as a mother, a lecturer and alumna of SUNY Brockport, a lifetime resident, and a concerned community member. I turn to my blog in order to make sense of things that frighten, frustrate and confound me. These posts fall entirely in the genre of creative essay. It’s not an outlet I use to cast judgements on people, and hardly ever do I present journalistic hard facts. My concern was that a violent crime went unreported for whatever reason, by a slew of media outlets, and not just one in particular. As a creative writer, I respect and rely on the truth that reporters bring to our community, and perhaps my frustration grew because I had no report to turn to in order to discover the truth.

I am happy to belong to a community with many voices.

I appreciate those of you who did read this post, and hope you appreciate my genuine concern for our community.

About Sarah Cedeño

Sarah Cedeño received her BA and MA in Creative Writing from SUNY-Brockport, and her MFA in fiction from Goddard College. Her work has appeared in The Rumpus, Hippocampus Magazine, The Bellevue Literary Review, Literary Mama, and Redactions. She lives in Brockport with her husband and two sons and teaches writing at SUNY-Brockport. View all posts by Sarah Cedeño

2 responses to “A Note on My Last Post

  • What!?!?

    So I’m confused. Was your purpose for writing this to worry about the beating of a human being or to defend the college students who were, unfairly, in your opinion I’m guessing, characterized as party going, trouble making miscreants? Wow just wow is all I can say.

  • Sarah Cedeño

    Yes, I was trying to make sense of this strange dynamic in our village.

Leave a Reply

